Evangelism

The topic Evangelism stirs great emotion in many Christians. Countless books have been written and several strategies have been formed in effort to help believers to share their faith. With this post I do not wish to discredit any books or tear at any strategy. The purpose in this post is simply to once again draw your attention to the call God has given to His Church to evangelise.

What is Evangelism? Evangelism is proclaiming the gospel. This begs the next question. What is the gospel? The gospel is the “good news”. Jesus Christ saves sinners from sin and sins consequences. He paid our debt through His death on the cross. He rose again on the third day and is now seated on the right hand of the throne of God. To put it in the most simple way I remind you the first message Jesus gave after His being Baptised; Repent for the Kingdom of Heaven is at hand.

The Gospel

  1. Jesus Christ = God in the flesh
  2. The Kingdom of Heaven = a separate kingdom from our current dwelling, earth.
  3. Christ is the only way for fallen sinners to access the Kingdom of Heaven

As Christians we often put together outreach events that in their context are OK. I’m afraid too many people allow the outreach to overshadow real evangelism. Real evangelism is the Gospel message preached/taught when the door has been opened through engagement be it an outreach event or simple conversation on the street.

I enjoy using outreach functions to bring people into our range. Once we get them within the sound of our voice it is of the utmost importance to share with them the message of Jesus Christ and His atoning sacrifice on behalf of sinners to the glory of the Father. May we not forget to do first things first. Tell the world Jesus Christ is the only way to Heaven. Even when it is uncomfortable.

3 Responses

  1. ok….all well and good…..but most people do not know what to say as the icebreaker…..what is your opening comment to hold them?

  2. Ron,

    Having only become reformed about 10 years ago, I found a new zeal to evangelism. As an Arminian I rarely let people know about Christ. Once I became reformed I realized God was putting me in situations and I had to be more aware. I was pulled over in Georgia by a highway patrol trooper for having an expired out of state tag. The tag was not expired and when I went to get the proof out of the glove box – I showed it to the trooper and he said now how could I have made a mistake like that. I took the opening and said – There is no other place you could be but right here talking to me right now – God made it so and here is why. I then launched into a brief overview of the gospel. That has been my icebreaker for years.

    Derek

  3. Hello Ron,
    Thank you for reading the post and asking your question. To answer, what I do, in general conversation I often ask a question. How do you feel about Jesus Christ? or Do you have any thyoughts about Jesus Christ? Most of the time I leave the issue of church out in the early stages. The simple question gives the person we ask the opportunity to answer. From the answer we can form a quick plan to follow up, if we feel it is time to do so. With that said I would always urge someone who is going to engage people with evangelistic efforts to pray, and consider some scriptures to practice in your mind. It is important to be prepared. During your preparation time you can consider some of the questions or responses you might receive in the feild. As you might have gathered already evangelism is something that we are lead by the Holy Spirit to do and is something we must prepare for. With the word hidden in our hearts we will be confident in the Father who sends us.
    Last I will recommend always remembering a fundamental truth. John 6:44 No man can come to me, except the Father which hath sent me draw him: and I will raise him up at the last day.
    We must know we are messengers and not the message. Christ is the message. If someone does not respond we should not take it personal. It has been proven through research many pastors spend Mondays behind closed doors lamenting over the lack of response on Sunday after the sermon. I refuse to do that. I simply share the message. The Spirit is responsible for the rest. Therefore I cannot accomplish what God has not ordained me to do. Evangelism is the ordained method of sharing the gospel. The Church is the ordained body to share the Gospel. The Holy Spirit is the chosen person to effect the Gospel message.
    May God bless you and I look forward to talking with you later.
    Brett

Leave a Reply

