Children are a heritage of the Lord

To dedicate a baby is to commit to raise the child according to God’s will. We do so knowing our children are a gift to us from God. We do so realizing God has put our children in our care that we might glorify God with that gift in how we raise them.

When God blesses us with the gift of children it is good for us to give them back to the Lord. We admit to God our desire for His Devine direction in the lives of our children.

1 Samuel 1:26-28

26 And she said, Oh my lord, as thy soul liveth, my lord, I am the woman that stood by thee here, praying unto the LORD. 27 For this child I prayed; and the LORD hath given me my petition which I asked of him: 28 Therefore also I have lent him to the LORD; as long as he liveth he shall be lent to the LORD. And he worshipped the LORD there.

1 Sam 1:26-28 (KJV)

  • CHILDREN ARE A GIFT FROM GODPsalm 127; 1 Except the LORD build the house, they labour in vain that build it: except the LORD keep the city, the watchman waketh but in vain. 2 It is vain for you to rise up early, to sit up late, to eat the bread of sorrows: for so he giveth his beloved sleep. 3 Lo, children are an heritage of the LORD: and the fruit of the womb is his reward. 4 As arrows are in the hand of a mighty man; so are children of the youth. 5 Happy is the man that hath his quiver full of them: they shall not be ashamed, but they shall speak with the enemies in the gate.Psalms 127:1-5 (KJV)

A. They belong to God

B. They are given at God’s pleasure Some pray years for children (Rachel said, “give me children or else I die“)Some are never given the gift of children. Only God knows why.

Some are given many children and some few.

  • CHILDREN ARE PARENTS RESPONSIBILITYDeuteronomy 11:19
    And ye shall teach them your children, speaking of them when thou sittest in thine house, and when thou walkest by the way, when thou liest down, and when thou risest up.
    Proverbs 22:6
    Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.
    Our duty as parents to:A. To teach them the word (make Bible reading a regular thing at home)B. To teach them Godly ways (by living the examples)C. To direct their steps until they are adults (even when they do not want us to)
  • CHILDREN ARE THE CHURCH’S RESPONSIBILITYTitus chapter 21 But speak thou the things which become sound doctrine: 2 That the aged men be sober, grave, temperate, sound in faith, in charity, in patience. 3 The aged women likewise, that they be in behaviour as becometh holiness, not false accusers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things; 4 That they may teach the young women to be sober, to love their husbands, to love their children, 5 To be discreet, chaste, keepers at home, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God be not blasphemed. 6 Young men likewise exhort to be sober minded.Titus 2:1-6 (KJV)

A. Teach new parents to be parents B. Help parents in stressful timesC. Reinforce parents discipline

Raising children is one of the most important duties we are given by God. While performing this duty God allows us to grow in so many ways. Our faith is often tested during this time in life. How we deal with raising our children is a direct testimony of our faith and trust in God as our guide in parenting. He gives us the handbook. It is up to us to use it and study it.

20 Responses

  1. Hey Bret,
    Someone asked me just last week to be apart of a dedication ceremony for their new child….I just saw this post and thought it was very timely…I actually copied and e-mailed it to them just now. Thanks for your thoughts! DM

  2. You are very welcome. It does my soul good to know you were helped by this post. Praise the Lord!
    Brett

    • It is a classic master piece on children as God’s heritage. I will be naming the first child in my Church and this material has proven so useful. Praise God

  3. My wife is preaching this Sunday to commemurate children’s day. i believe she will find this material helpful

  4. Seth
    I praise the Lord. Glad you were able to use the material. You might also check out another site I put together.
    http://www.freesermons.wordpress.com
    Thanks for stopping by

  5. I was given the task of giving a sermon at a dedication ceremony. I was researching on children as God’s heritage and found this article.

    It tremendously blessed me and helped me. Thanks

  6. Folorunso,
    Glad you were blessed by the article. It is a blessing to know God is using this material.

    Brett

  7. I found this very helpful ,I have a children’s convention at church today,I will be using a few excerpts

  8. I found this very useful for one of my children who need to deliver a speech on children are the heritage of God

  9. Tomorrow is back to school service atmy church. I am pleased to have read your excerpt, it will help me in the preparation of the message to parents and children

    Ina

  10. I need short drama on the topic”children are heritage of God.”

  11. This is a very nice article, I pray God gives you more grace, depth and inspiration.

  12. thanks bret my father was called 2 give a sermon on dedication ceremony & i login here & he gt d sermon thank u pray4me

  13. i need a message about children are heritage from God

  14. I am glad to have come across this article now because I have a programme for children in the church on sunday 30/09/2012..May the Lord bless you.

  15. I find this helpful as I was preparing a message on children as heritage of the Lord for our children harvest. God bless you.

  16. Love the article.Nenye

  17. I love this write up

  18. Thanks God.. This materials have been a great blessings to me to aid my children’s week.

Leave a Reply

